A good time for a 10k race?

What is a good time for a for a 10k road race? How fast should I be for my age category/weight/height/gender?

If you are asking this question, expect a lot of opinions and lots of factors. But I reckon there’s only one factor. And it’s got nothing to do with bio-mechanics or body shape.

When I did my very first 10k race, I finished comfortably and got in line to collect my tote bag of rewards. After waiting days to find out how I had faired, the spreadsheet of results arrived in my email inbox.

I judged a respectable placing, by law of averages, must be bang in the middle of the 10-page list of finishers. I was on page 6, quite far down the page.

Since then, running a 10k in under 50 mins has been my benchmark for what constitutes a reasonable time for me.

Why 50 minutes or less? It is the time it takes me to run a 10k at RPE 10 (my maximum Rate of Perceived Exertion). It’s the “hold nothing back” effort.

And that’s the only factor required to produce a good 10k finishing time. Just bring your RPE 10 on race day.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A good time for a 10k race?

  1. batelm2014 says:

    Wow 50 min. that is incredible. I’m now training for my first 5K in May. I am able to run 3 miles, but it takes me 40 min. Hopefully by race day I can shave it down to 30-35 min. that is my first goal. http://www.runningtomilan.wordpress.com

  2. RennyRambles says:

    You’ll be surprised just how quickly your running times will change – especially having joined a running club. Running with faster people makes you faster! Good luck with the 5K in May 🙂

Leave a Reply

