Training days

Since I signed up for a half Ironman triathlon, every day has been a training day. Even the rest day seems to be a sort of “cram in the things you should have done instead of training and get sorted for another six days of training” day.

Not that I’m complaining. My head is OK with 10 hours + exercise a week. My appetite LOVES all the extra exercise. It’s the planning that’s hard.

Like those moments where you stare into space trying to work out whether it’s best to take the running shoes home and run tonight, or, just leave them at work, swap tonight’s run for a longer cycle. Or just do a normal cycle home, do an evening swim and then cram an extra run at lunchtime next day. Or would you prefer to eat lunch? Because we like lunch, we really do.

Harder still is making sure you’ve got all the things you need with you (including food & liquids) for the sessions you want to do.

For example, I can’t go running tonight as planned as I accidentally left my running shoes at work. And this morning I forgot to pack a towel so had to use my cardigan as a substitute towel after my shower at the gym. My cardigan has quite the abrasive metal zip.

If you are (like I am) the type of person who leaves their packed lunch sitting on the kitchen work top three days out of five, yet still hopes to successfully train for an endurance event, it’s probably a good idea to double up on the things you need.

Maybe keep one bag at work and one bag at home, each with running gear and swimming gear. Or get a bigger rucksack and just keep all that stuff with you every day.

Also pack the bag(s) the night before. A 6am shout out to check if anyone has seen your left glove/token for the locker/overshoes/Tiger Balm/swim watch/the shorts without the hole in isn’t going to win over the support crew.

I’m away now to take my own advice

 

 

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

