Wheely tough mudder

With the worsening weather, and my hiking buddy working unsociable hours (unsociable for weekend hiking, anyway), there just haven’t been many outdoor adventures for me to blog about.

As the weather in October worsened, my hiking and cycling adventures dwindled to almost nothing.

I kept up cycling to work, as often as I could, but it all hit a real low point in January this year. The weather was stinking. The wind was unrelenting, and the temperature was bitter. Twice a day.

In fact, I had had enough and was ready to chuck the bike entirely.

So, here I am, mid march, over weight and over tired, but committed to cycling 140 miles a week, two gym classes a week and 3 x 5 k runs per week.

So what changed? Well, the weather has improved a bit. But that’s just a bonus. Signing up for a race or two has given me the jolt I needed. It has gotten me off my arse, especially now that race day is getting closer!

A few weeks of effort and already I’m feeling that sense of incremental of improvement as I set my sights on a sprint triathlon in May.

All going well, I can use the tri to build up to 21st June, when I’ll be embarking on my first ever “Wheely Tough Mudder”. A 67-ish mile cycle from my house to Drumlanrig Castle, followed by a half marathon with assorted muddy obstacles.

Along the way, I intend to pinch a couple of KOMs off “Square-slice Campbell”, a whippersnapper who wants his Strava trophy cabinet thinned out by someone half his height and twice his age.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

