Air wolf in lycra – that’s how I roll

Yeah, I know I look pissed off in this picture – it's just the look of concentration as I struggle with my camera

Yeah, I know I look pissed off in this picture – it’s just the look of concentration as I struggle with my camera

I read a book ages ago called The Bike Snob, which had illustrations of the main different types of cyclists. There was the “roadie” obsessed with weight reduction, “the messenger”, the “beautiful godzilla” and a few other types. The above photo (from a recent weekend cycle), shows that I clearly fit into the “Lone Wolf” category – a bearded grizzly with a mish-mash of styles that kind of says “Fuck it, I ride my way, I care not what you think”.

My aviator sunglasses just top it off don’t they 😉

The thing is, I’d always told myself that I cycle out of necessity – to get to work and back, cheaply. How did I become a “type of cyclist”?

It just sneaks up on you. For each day that the cycling feels like a chore, or worse, a scary experience, there’s another day where the wind is behind you and the only noise is that “Vvvv, Vvvv, Vvvv” of your wheels pulsing along the road.

I began to take to cycling when injury was plaguing my running. I had lost that sense of freedom I used to get when I could look out the window, fix my eyes on a hill on the horizon and think to myself, “I could run up there”.

But with the bike, I can fix my eyes on a hill on the horizon and think “I wonder what’s on the other side of that?”

And I’m amazed at just how fast and efficient a bike can be. When I pass runners, sometimes I wonder how it’s possible for me to be going so fast when I’m pushing along a few kilos of metal as well as myself. It’s an amazing piece of kit.

And that’s how it happens. Before you know it you are posting photos of your bicycle and howling at the wind. Seriously, not joking!

Muirsheil cycle

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure, Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

