Sucker plunge!

Why do I do this?! I was too late to get off my backside and sign up for the Bishopbriggs Triathlon when entries opened. So instead, I got on the reserve list behind 50 other people waiting for a reserve place. Time went by and I did NO TRAINING WHATSOEVER, and then 10 days before the event, I got given a last chance of a place by the organisers. And I took it – sucker!

The great thing about setting a goal is, no matter how little time you have, you are committed. Just by saying Yes, you’ve already dived in. Here’s what I’ve been throwing myself into…

  • Friday 18 April: did a 45 mile training cycle with a friend who DOES have a place for the Bishopbriggs triathlon.
  • Saturday 19 April: cleaned bike.
  • Sunday 20 April: cycled 24k-ish. Ran slowly for 6.5k
  • Tuesday 22 April. Cycled 6 miles to work. Got a place confirmed for the triathlon. Cycled 5 miles to gym. Did 45 mins circuits. Cycled 1 mile home.
  • Wednesday 23 April: Cycled 1 mile to gym. Swam 750 metres. Cycled 5 miles to work. Cycled 6 miles home.
  • Thursday 24 April: Cycled 1 mile to gym. Swam 750 metres. Cycled 5 miles to work. Cycled 6 miles home. Ran 6.5k
  • Friday 25 April: Cycled 1 mile to gym. Swam 750 metres. Cycled 5 miles to work. Cycled 5 miles to gym. Ran 2k on treadmill. Did 45 mins circuits. Cycled 1 mile home.
  • Sunday 27 April: 36k cycle.
  • Monday 28 April (today): Cycled 1 mile to gym. Swam 750 metres. Cycled 5 miles to work. Cycled 6 miles home.

 

Phew! So what now?

Swimming is my worst discipline, so that’s what I need to improve on, and quickly.

I have 5 remaining days before race day. I’ll continue to cycle commute 12 miles each day Tuesday thru Friday, with a 750 metre swim each morning. Circuits on Tuesday night as usual, and a 5k run after my cycle home on Thursday. That’s it.

Oh, and clean & oil the bike.

 

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

