A bucket list item crossed off

Last week was an odd one. I hadn’t been feeling that great, and my diet hasn’t been that great either.

Nevertheless, I cycled to work and back Monday thru Thursday. On Tuesday night I did my usual circuit class. I always feel pretty good, knowing I already put in a 6 mile cycle as a warm up, but I felt pretty crap afterwards as I cycled home in soaking wet clothes – the driving rain cut right through me, and my legs were nipped as it pelted off me.

As I was hosting a Halloween party for my boy on Thursday evening, running club was out. Secretly, I was pleased about that as I have a spot of Plantar Fascitis. So I traded the 10k evening run for a 5k lunchtime run instead. It was slow and sluggish, but it felt good to be not in the office at lunchtime, so I reckon I’ll do that again.

Friday brought circuits again, and I had hoped to be up for a cycle & park run duathlon on Saturday, but I just couldn’t get out of bed. So a cycle to the gym and a kettlebell session was what I managed on Saturday. The wind and rain fought me on the way home, and I spent a long time in the shower afterwards trying to warm up.

Sunday came round and I was up early for a change. Despite feeling chilly, the sun was out. I realised time was marching, so while the family was still asleep, I took a look at my bucket list to see if there was anything I could squeeze in. There was. An 8.8 mile cycle to Muirsheil Country Park (mostly uphill), a 10k trail run, and then another 8 mile cycle (mostly downhill).

The legs felt tired after so many lunges, clean & presses and burpees, but with the sun out, I just kept the gears light and slowly cycled up Burntsheilds road and on into the moors. Once at the visitor centre, I locked up my bike and helmet & ran out along the Old Mine Track trail – a gravel track which is a 4k out and 4k back. I’d worry about making up the 2k later.

But I started worrying pretty early into the gradual uphill trail 1.5k in and I had to stop as I felt my legs tightening up. The same again at the top of a steeper section 2.75k in. Again at 4k before turning back. Not like me. I ran the 4k back without a break, but its easy when it’s downhill. To make up the remaining 2k I turned onto the other trail, which I think is supposed to be off limits as the gate is padlocked. It was really a bit rough for running in trainers, and I was glad to reach 1 kilometre point so I could turn round and head back for my bike.

The return cycle was OK until I had to pull myself up a steep hill again & my legs started to go a bit jelly-like.

It’s nice that at 41 years old, I can get out of bed & think: “It’s early, maybe I could squeeze in a 23 mile duathlon?”. But I really should train for it. Or at least do some stretching first. Suppose I’ll have to add that to my bucket list…

 

 

 

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

