The hill by the trail

In my previous post “Sweating it out’, I made mention of a hill at the side of the Siller Pass, which I briefly thought about climbing, before changing my mind.

Well, I changed my mind, again. I had left wife and son in Puerta Pollensa as they wanted to take the bus home and I didn’t.

I walked out of Puerta Pollensa in the late afternoon sun and started running when the road turned to track. I stopped again on the saddle of the Pass and looked at the two hills either side of it. Two big gate posts. I reckoned I could get a better view of some other trails from on top of one of them.

It was unplanned and I hadn’t told anyone where I was going and I didn’t have much phone battery. So I picked the nearest hill and started climbing. Sometimes you’ve just got to.

It became quite ‘airy’ and exposed and I had to grab handfuls of rock and vegetation to pull myself up. There were some goats up above me, so it had to be climbable. It was while scrambling across a rather vicious boulder I realised I would not be able to do much running on this hill. But that disappointment faded at the top, as dozens of spectacular running routes came into view. siller hill2

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

