It’s a wonderful park life

I spent almost the whole of last weekend in parks. And even if the weather hadn’t been great, I would have still have done the same!

I went on a quick run on Saturday morning on country roads to test out my latest pair of trainers (these Brooks Green Silence)…

Cheap, low heeled, eco-friendly shoes. But not hard wearing

Cheap, low heeled, eco-friendly shoes. But not hard wearing

And then a quick shower before heading down to the Scout hall – as I was booked to do a shift cooking burgers in the local park with the 15th R&I Scout group.

Between not stretching after running in new shoes, and having done too many lunges in the gym earlier in the week, I managed to properly fuck up my left knee. I had to get my wife to put my shoes on for me. I won’t blame the new trainers though!

And that quickly went to the back of my mind once we got set up in the park. Here’s the band, ready for action…

Stormhavens prepared and ready

Stormhavens prepared and ready

And then on Sunday, I filled my Osprey Talon rucksack with sandwiches, crisps, and some treats and we headed up to Clyde Muisheil Country park for a picnic by the river. After our al fresco riverside lunch we had a wee chat with one of the Country Rangers before setting out to walk up Windy hill.

It was so nice I managed to convince both wife and son to push on to Craig Minnan. You can see both hills either side of this picture taken on our return journey…

Just us, and the occasional some hen harriers and fleeing sheep

Just us, and the occasional hen harrier and fleeing sheep with lambs

 

 

After that, I met up with my hiking buddy for a cup of tea, and we planned our next munro trip – Ben Oss and Beinn Dubhchraig on the edge of Loch Lomond and Trossachs national park.

Some of my best time is spent in local, country, and national parks. I like to think that’s where my tax money has been going, and I’m just getting my money’s worth.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

