New year, new start

Goodbye 2012 and all that. There was a lot that was good about 2012, but there was a lot that wasn’t. Between writing off two cars, and suffering the neighbours from hell for 11 months, we’re glad to see the back of it.

So for 2013, we’re looking forward. We’ve booked a holiday we can’t afford, but I don’t care. We need one.

And I’m also looking to book some new goals. Hopefully I’ll be doing much more outdoors stuff with the Explorer Scouts, now that more tan 15 of them have signed up to do the DofE award.

A bundle of munros are obviously on the cards, but to push myself, I’ll need to find some new adventures on top of that.

Here are a few things I’ve bookmarked, The Kintyre Way race looks great!

Screen shot 2013-01-13 at 14.45.22

In the meantime, simply wishing on a thing won’t make it happen. It takes planning, effort, commitment. So I started with putting in some effort…

  • 4 Jan: I set out with my pal to do a 11 mile circuit of Drymen > Balmaha > Conic Hill > Drymen.
  • 5 January: ran first 6k road run of the year
  • 7 January: Cycled 13 miles and did 45 min weights circuit
  • 7 January: I did two gym circuit classes in a row
  • 8 January: did 45 min Spin class – got to build those big muscles. Heart and thighs!
  • 9 January: Cycled 13 miles and did 30 min weights session. I upped my kettlebells from using 14, 16 and 18k bells to 16, 18 and 20k bells.
  • 10 January: Second spin class of the week – over 14 miles, and some friction burns.
  • 11 January: A tapered weights session with a 1k treadmill warm down,
  • 12 January: Rest & write up my blog

Tomorrow it’s back on the bicycle, and an early morning gym session before work. My plan is to maintain a six-day training week (mixing cardio and strength training) for six weeks. Over this time, I’ll keep an eye on my ankles and if I feel strong enough, the intention is to start running with Kilbarchan AAC one night per week.

We’ll see…

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

