Summer’s lag

 

I’m going to blame the summer holiday season for my lack of posts. At least, that’s what I’ve been telling myself.

In truth, my left heel has prevented me from running, and even made the end to my most recent hike a bit grisly. It’s like someone has beat the inside of my heel repeatedly with a small hammer.

I will make an appointment to see that General Practitioner, but I’ve learned I must show clear signs of organ failure and be screaming for a quick death before I call to arrange that pointless trip. In the meantime, it’s been 4 weeks since I last ran, and lack of any progress has left me under-enthused. And my crankiness emissions are in breach of current EU recommended safety limits. I need to be out running/hiking, and feel the rain/sweat on my face.

But I promised myself this would not be a moanalogue! So look forward to some positive posts radiating from Chez RennyRambles soon…

Gasp as I report from the summits of Beinn Dorain and Beinn an Dothaidh; catch up with my latest Wigwam adventure near Borgue; and follow me back to fitness as I start to build up some low-impact exercise combined with a low-carb nutrition plan (yeah, you can call it Atkins if you like, I call it a potato famine. Or a Beer blight).

Anyway all that to look forward to. To stave off the boredom, I’ve been reading a lot. Among other books half-started, here’s what I’ve closed the back page on recently…

  • Nemesis, Jo Nesbo
  • Bloodstream, Tess Gerritsen
  • Trespass, Rose Tremain
  • Snowdrops, A.D. Miller
  • Rock and Roll Mountains, Graham Forbes
  • The Whisperer, Donato Carrisi

And right now I’m reading The forgotten Highlander by Alistair Urquhart. Reading his story, and why he decided only to tell it following the death of his wife, is quite extraordinary. I’m enjoying it, and I’m enjoying very much that he’s still alive.

 

 

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Off topic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

