Food, fartlek and feet

So another week in paradise goes by.

Monday: A strong fartlek session with the running club. It was a shorter session, but with a longer jog home – 8.5 miles in all. I felt good. I had really tried.

Tuesday: Cycled 6.5 miles into work & cycled the same distance back again. Planned my next Munro for the start of June. Still feeling goood.

Wednesday: Cycled 6.5 miles into work & cycled the same distance back again, but I wasn’t in good enough time for my steady (fast) run with the Kilbarchan AAC folks. Felt slightly annoyed.

Thursday: 6.45am with rucksack on my back for an 8.5 mile road run finishing up at my place of work. The first 4.5 miles were slow and sore, but I came alive for the last 4 and went from a 9.50 average pace to bring it down to about a 9.30 minute mile average. Felt washed out, so spent all day fueling on fatty sugary carbs.

Friday: Did not cycle, swim or gym. But I did go along to Explorer Scouts – we took the boys up to the camp site and did a bit of general fire-making and sausage undercooking.

Saturday: up at 8.30am and onto google earth plotting some 17 mile routes. My legs really didn’t feel like it, but it had to be done. Unlike Thursday’s run, there was no spark after 4 or 5 miles. Instead, it was a slog. At 10 miles my legs were heavy but pretty numb. It felt like an age between each mile gained. At 12/13 miles the soles of my feet got progressively more painful. I should have eased off but I didn’t. After the run, and for the rest of the day, walking was uncomfortable.

It was made slightly better by a night out, with feet up and fork in the air to sample some excellent food made by the talented Geoffrey Smeddle. Thanks to my folks for underwriting it!

Sunday was for eating, cooking and baking, and eating some more – that’s what Sunday’s are for, surely?!

And on Monday (today), I cycled my work commute of around 13 miles & found I have a fairly constant nag along the outside sole of my right foot, and also in my left inside heel. Yes doctor, I know what the cause is…

1. Not stopping before the end of my 17-mile run. I’m an idiot for having to see it out, no matter the consequence.

2. Not changing my footwear – my Asics Gel Nimbus shoes are nearly a year old, and they are ready for the bin – I should have changed them a month ago.

So, anyone know where I can get a pair of last season’s Gel Nimbus 12s, size 7, for under £80? And a good supply of patience? Ahem.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food, fartlek and feet

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Running for 2012 miles in 2012 « Run for 2012

  2. Pingback: Day of Rest « Run for 2012

Leave a Reply

