Legs & Co

Here’s what I’ve been up to since last Sunday. In an effort to take it easier on my calf muscles, I have decreased the running this week, but maintained the workload in other areas. So hopefully my trail marathon training is still on track despite a few niggles…

  • Sunday: a rest day.
  • Monday: 6.5 mile cycle to work. 30 mins gym session (10 mins rowing machine and 20 mins kettlebells). 6.5 mile cycle home from work.
  • Tuesday: 6.5 mile cycle to work. 30 mins gym session (5 mins rowing machine and 25 mins kettlebells). 6.5 mile cycle home from work. Body sore from two weight training sessions on consecutive days, but the calf muscles are improving!
  • Wednesday: 30 mins gym session (10 mins rowing machine and 20 mins kettlebells) before work. Swim (breaststroke and front crawl) of about 25 lengths of a 25 metre pool. Then a 10 mile run in fast company (the boys from Kilbarchan AAC), with plenty of hill work.
  • Thursday: 6.5 mile cycle to work and then 6.5 mile cycle home from work (kind of a rest day). Then packing my kit for a Friday hike.
  • Friday: 7-hour hike with a friend. We covered 8 miles to cross summits of Beinn Nairnam and Beinn Ime, with a total ascent of 1325 metres (4, 347ft). Explorer Scouts in the evening.
  • Saturday: Unsure of how the legs would hold up, I picked a relatively easy route and set out for a late morning run of 15 miles at slow pace. I was tired but I managed to keep putting one foot in front of the other and ignore the pain welling up from time to time in the calf muscles.
  • Today: I was supposed to do the 7-mile George Cummings handicap road race with Kilbarchan AAC, but I reckon I’ll not bother, as I’ll be running in the 8-mile Fartlek session tomorrow night anyway. I think I’ve done enough this week.

 

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

