Down and back up again

Well, I went for that run on 3 December. Not the Park run, as I had to be on a train for 10.30 and there wasn’t time to start in Pollock Park at 9.30am, batter round the course, find a shower and get to the station in time.

Instead I got up at 6am and went for a road run out the back of my village, down to Bridge of Weir, and then looping back to Kilbarchan, and up Branscroft (a challenging wee hill when the wind is against you). It was my first run since pinging my calf muscles & despite heavy legs, I plodded round not too bad. Got skelped by the wind and rain, but a tidy run, maybe 7k.

Come lunchtime, my head was spinning – I had picked up a flu-like bug. Cue seven days of shivering, sweating and general malaise. And of course, an entire week of no cycling, training, or running.

Monday 12 December, I felt well enough to start cycling again. I coughed up enough lime green slime to be able to retrace my journey in the dark, but the bug is definitely losing it’s grip on me.

I picked a rotten week to start cycling to work again though. The past three days have been extremely wet, very windy, and with the wind chill, bloody cold. I can’t say I’ve had any high gears on – been pedaling easy. But as they say, it’s a start. I have been back at the gym too, and I might, just might, go to running club tonight.

But it’s conditional on snow-free roads, and an easy cycle home.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

