Recovery time

It’s been an odd start-stop sort of recovery since my terrible run on Monday 22nd November. I’d pinged my left calf and my right peronius longus felt like it was trying to tear away from my leg – I had to stop five times to stretch and nurse my legs..

It was a big wobble for me though. The distance was a doddle. 6.5 miles, which I should be able to do in my sleep, AND it was mostly on the flat. I looked and felt like I was on the last 6 miles of a marathon, not a fresh middle distance runner just 2 miles into an easy jog.

The rest of the week I was a bit lost, and truth be told, a bit depressed. I skipped a gym session and also skipped running club.

Until Friday night at Scouts, when during a bout of the table game – that’s the game where you start on top of a table, go underneath and back up the other side without touching the ground – both my calf muscles twinged in agony. My own fault! I woke up Saturday with bruising to thighs, calfs, and both arms.

I rested Saturday, but went for a 45 min intense spin session on the Sunday, which was fine for the calf muscles and it seemed to ‘reset’ my legs.

I followed that up with 13-mile round commute on Monday (wet & windy).

And again on Tuesday, with a 30 min keep moving free weight gym session including some weighted squats to kicks and also some newly mastered Turkish get ups for good measure. People at the gym must have thought I had got my arse kicked doing MMA, what with my fine collection of bruises.

I bottled it for running club on Wednesday again (I still feel bruised around my legs), and decided to maybe book in for a circuit class on Thursday, to keep my cardio up.

Unfortunately, a late project kept me away from the circuit class, so today I find myself feeling distinctly un-exercised.

So I think I’ll see if I can make circuits today, and maybe a wee cycle, if it stays dry!

The Park Run tomorrow will be my first run for two weeks – I hope everything stays in place & I’ll try not to worry about my time. I’m booked in for a new kettlebell class on Sunday as well – Kettlercise, apparently, so we’ll see how that goes.

And then hopefully it’s back to normal, and back to running club, which I’m starting to miss. Fingers crossed.

Forgot to mention, here’s some events I’m thinking about…

  • The Mighty Deerstalker (17 March 2012)
  • Lakeland off-road trail marathon (1 July 2012)
  • Tough Mudder (14 July 2012), or
  • 10 in the Glen (14 July 2012)
  • Scotland Coast to Coast (15-16 September 2012)
About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

