Playing the wide game

I’ve been volunteering recently at my local scout group, and last night the Explorer Scout leader took the boys out for a wide game. It’s been 35 years since I’ve played in a wide game, so I was quite looking forward to it. And I was quite impressed to hear that we would be doing it even if the weather was bad. And in fact even of the weather turned out to be terrible, we’d still be doing it!

It turned out that the wide game was to take place in the woods above our village – the same woods I ran through almost every week while training for my trail marathon earlier in the year.

It’s a perfect training ground for trail or hill running. Chicanes, sharp drops & steep elevations, mud, huge fallen trees to vault over. And I know it like the back of my hand.

Still, at 9pm in the dark, navigation is not quite as easy, and that’s the point of the wide game. It was a kind of good-natured manhunt – hunting down three leaders to extract map co-ordinates from them. Navigate to the co-ordinates, win the game. It was good fun.

It reminded me that the Dampton pad is accessible anytime – not just on a Sunday morning. Our countryside is never closed…  it’s a vast and wild playground for which we need to pay no subscription nor membership fee, because we are all born with a guaranteed lifetime membership!

Right, I’m off to clean my boots. Looks like a fine day out there.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

