Running with the pack

I ran for the second time with my local running club (Kilbarchan AAC) last night. After what I thought was a fairly tough baptism last Wednesday I was expecting another 5.5 miles of brisk loops.

I had come prepared this time, with headtorch and luminous lightweight jacket. Unfortunately I had also arrived a few minutes late and found that my group had already struck out.

Somebody pointed me in the right direction and I set off in pursuit at a very brisk pace. By the time I caught up, I was ready to take it slower and I found a chap who was happily running at a similar pace.

No loops, but instead a long steady run out to Linwood, under the motorway, and through Johnstone. It was nice to run at an easy pace and be able to chat. It made the time pass really quickly. The weather was mild and dry, and I got home feeling superb.

This morning I got up and my right ankle was stiff & painful. My first thought was “I hope it’s better by next Wednesday”. And it will be.

It’s been a long time since I’ve trained with a group. I’d forgotten how a wee bit of banter, and a wee bit of competition motivates you.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

