My monday supplement – adrenalin overload

Here’s what I’ve been up to the last week or so. It started fairly sedentary, but as the weekend came closer, my average BPM hit a spike, and it didn’t really return to baseline until around 9.30pm last night.

  • Monday: drove to work as I had to be in super early. Unfortunately, was late getting home so no time for exercise.
  • Tuesday: 6.5 mile cycle to work; 16 lengths of the pool front crawl. 6.5 mile cycle home after work.
  • Wednesday: 13 miles commute on the bicycle.
  • Thursday: 13 miles commute, pedalling again.
  • Friday: 10 mile hike up two Munros, with an ascent of 1189 metres – a big old hike round the Black Mount. I’ll write a review of this separately, but for now, Stob Ghabhar contained a heart-pounding slippery and skittish scramble followed by a ridge I don’t think I’d fancy doing again.
  • Saturday: 4 mile jog on tarmac. Guess I’d just seen too many grassy inclines the previous day. Thighs heavy, but eased during run.
  • Sunday early: 980 metres, 10 kilometres. Solo hike attempt at Beinn a’Chochuill and Beinn Eunaich near Dalmally, but the wind was against me & it fought against my legs all the way up Beinn a’Chochuill. Had to deflect at times from the driving rain, a quite harsh wind chill and occasional gusts in excess of 60mph. After reaching the first peak, even with gloves on I could hardly feel or see my fingers. Sheltering for 15 mins looking at the bealach, I decided to bail out and left Beinn Eunaich for another time and tried to work some feeling back into my fingers as I picked my way back down.
  • Sunday late: Two and a half hours of adrenalin-fuelled wave buffeting. A few pints of seawater and speeds of up to 14.5 knots in Corryvreckan on a SeaFari boat, courtesy of top photographer Peter Sandground. An exhilarating, spine crunching and unforgettable ride, I’m still trying to work some feeling back into my fingers.
About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My monday supplement – adrenalin overload

  1. Pingback: Mid-week supplement | Renny Rambles

  2. Pingback: Lost on the Cruachan horseshoe | Renny Rambles

Leave a Reply

