Stile guide

I had tweeted earlier about how I’m a fan of these little stepped access points, usually found, at the corners of dry stane walls in farmed fields. I’m especially fond of these two (you can click to enlarge). Read on to find out why. Go on, indulge me…

Both have three steps, and also a fixed iron pole which is there solely to help to you balance as you hoist yourself up. The poles are solid iron, rounded at the top, which has been worked smooth as glass from years of hands holding on. It always feels warm to the touch somehow, maybe iron never really ever completely cools.

A wide slab of stone spans the top of each dyke, and allows the runner a moment to pause, catch breath, and take in the view.

I encounter lots of these fellows on my runs. And I’ve come to love them. They give me a wee break from the run, and are simple reminders of the work and effort that goes into the land we’re lucky enough to have the freedom to roam.

I don’t know how best to describe my pleasure at encountering them – it’s like finding a man-made causeway 1000 metres up a mountainside, or even better, finding a candle and a caramel wafer inside a bothy.

Little kindnesses, expecting no thanks.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Off topic, Outdoor adventure, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

