Love and deuce

Damn. Tuesday’s been tough.

I know Quark Xpress like the back of my hand, and it’s now taken half a day to layout a six-page feature in Indesign.

I would have nailed it inside the hour in Quark. Seriously, I’m fast, and I’m good. I might not be the most talented designer out there, but I think on my feet, and I know how to get the best out of my tools, fast fast fast.

Now I feel like I’m Ivan Lendl playing on grass at Wimbledon.

Top of my game, but the terrain ain’t giving me anything. And all of a sudden, there are new kids who already know the ground better than me, and I’m making school boy errors trying to keep up.

And that’s the way I’ve also been feeling cycling on the road today. Other chaps, who’ve kept up with the changes; and younger chaps, who’ve never had so much as a knee niggle; all overtaking me, and working their way sensibly, effortlessly through the traffic.

I cycled through an orange light today. On the motorbike, that’s risky, but negotiable with a bit of forward thinking and some throttle. On a dual carriageway, on a bicycle, in rush hour – it’s the arse end of a rookie mistake. I nearly didn’t make it through.

But after I made it through the crossroads, I was met on the way home by two cyclists. Conversation, brief, but warm. And after these proficient cyclists passed me, I watched how they handled the road, and the traffic.

It’s especially when we feel we should be in front, that we need someone to follow. Be thankful when they are there.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

