Compulsive basic training saved my life

Well, my cycle home from Paisley to Kilby could have been worse. At least the schools are off & a pleasant breeze kept me cool.

Which is just as well, as the sound of diesel engines ringing in my ears had me sweating buckets. I haven’t cycled on the road since I got my cycling proficiency badge, back in 1982. And a lot has changed.

For starters, I didn’t get my badge for travelling on dual carriageways in rush hour. Forget dib dib dib. This is dab, dab, dab.

OK, maybe I exaggerate, just a little. Some great drivers gave me enough space to travel sideways and were extremely patient with this wobbly boy. But there are also those who just want home. Trucks with no perception of Left-Hand-Side World, and the Cut-You-Up Kid, oft seen up close and personal. I should know, I’ve been that driver.

But I’ve been behaving myself for a while now. Not least as I’ve been commuting to work on a motorbike for the last year. And that’s the real reason I’m back home in one piece.

Out of habit, I’d been doing my lifesavers on the road today (always look over your shoulder on the side you intend to point the bike). It’s a good rule, and tonight I got the full value my CBT. And some change.

If you see a chap on a bicycle in the Paisley area, approaching the traffic lights & trying to change down gears by using his left foot. Toot you’re horn & feel free to tell me I just did my Lifesaver on the wrong side.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Off topic, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

