Born to run. Or can’t!

Born to run – F yes. As the title of the book by Chris McDougall, I’m sold. Born to run, of course we are.

I was given Chris’s book by my brother-in-law Enge (real name Charles Engebretsen, infectiously likeable, and seemingly indefatigable good egg, perhaps by way of his strong Norwegian & Scots lineage) during a low point – my birthday, January 2011.

I was suffering badly from my groin strain, shin splints, and worst of all self doubt! My park run times were slowing, and my resolve was at a low ebb. But by Blind Io, didn’t Chris McDougall, Scott Jurek, Bonehead et al, give me pause for thought, and then some grit!

Give the book a chance if you can use the runner’s editorial equivalent of a kick up the backside! I did, and it happily saw me through to the Deerstalker 2011, despite being me being heavier, slower, and in more pain than previous years.

For the record, I achieved my fastest time to date (and I still felt like I hadn’t given it my all).

That gift of a book has now been gifted to another (as all good books should!!!). But now, ‘Born to run’ as a concept seems distant, with my average time (this week) of 10 minutes for a 400m loop.

But I’m reading another inspiring book as I recuperate from my op. Can’t swim, ride, run by Andy Holgate is a tale of good guy to super guy. It might not be as accomplished as some other look-at-me autobiographes, but hey, he wrote it himself and he justifies every paragraph. If the ‘H’  in H&J stands for ‘Heart’ , then the Mr Holgate is typographically unquestionable.

(Andy, I haven’t finished it yet, so  hope you’ve got a good ending in store. I’m just starting Chapter 12 & keeping my fingers crossed.)

Next on the list is either the book of ‘100 best Munroes‘ (purchased & ready to break the spine), or a book recommended by Gavin (top trainer and all round good guy at DL Renfrew), ‘Feet in the clouds‘, which I’ve yet to track down.

So I suppose I’m going to have to let my fingers do the walking for now. Tell you what though, I still get to turn a corner every night! Goodnight all.

About RennyRambles

Running, rambling, cycling, swimming and scrambling to my heart's content. Happiest on a trail, with some jelly babies in my pocket.
This entry was posted in Outdoor adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Born to run. Or can’t!

  1. Carol says:

    I have a copy of Feet in the Clouds and Ultramarathon Man (Dean Karmazes) if you’re interested, will send Derek with them. Nice blog btw.

  2. andy holgate says:

    Thanks for your kind words about my book. I can confirm that I wrote every last bit of it, no celeb ghost writing for me 😉
    Hope you enjoyed the end of it, if you’ve made it that far.

    And I sincerely hope that the injury is healing up and the op was a success.
    Have fun when you are back out running.

    Cheers,
    Andy

Leave a Reply

